Monday Musing.. .. .. .. .. .. The First Meeting

When I read a new book I love and crave the ‘First Meet’ between the main characters, I often go back to re-read these scenes just so I can capture that first tingle, the simmering heat, the anticipation.  And I love it even more when the author writes a point of view from each character.

When Ana first stumbled through the door of Christian’s office the tension was palpable, you just knew this was going to be a first meeting that would burn and alter their lives forever.  Similarly when Eva fell on her ass and was helped to her feet by Gideon it was a hot and heavy encounter, the electricity surged between them.  And Ava and Jesse, well, my God that man is the epitome of sex on legs!  How Ava didn’t jump his bones there and then I’ll never know!

Of course we all love the first flush of love in real life, when you first meet someone your tummy flips when you simply think about them.  When you see them for a date you get giddy and feel fireworks in your knickers, yes oh yes that feeling.   The ‘first meetings’ in real life may not be quite as intense as in fiction but they still leave a hot memory stored in your brain for future use….

The getting to know you scenes can be as exciting as the sex scene in my mind.  I just love reading the dialogue, the banta, the restrained flirting, the teasing, it drives me wild.

What is your favourite part of a book?

Mags x

“Are you gay, Mr. Grey?” 

He inhales sharply, and I cringe, mortified. Crap. Why didn’t I employ some kind of filter before I read this straight out? How can I tell him I’m just reading the questions? Damn Kate and her curiosity!

“No Anastasia, I’m not.” He raises his eyebrows, a cool gleam in his eyes. He does not look pleased.” 
― E.L. JamesFifty Shades of Grey

Jamie-DornanChristian Grey

“He was the kind of guy that made a woman want to rip his shirt open and watch the buttons scatter along with her inhibitions.” 

― Sylvia DayBared to You

009TGY_Colin_Egglesfield_001Gideon Cross

“Just tell me one thing before you leave, Ava.” His voice prickles at my senses… His face is serious, but still stunning. “How loud do you think you’ll scream when I fuck you?” 

― Jodi Ellen MalpasThis Man

Jesse WardThe Lord, Jesse ward

christian-grey-anastasia-steele-photos-02

“Of course. Silly me. Such a sad, exciting score, which no doubt you can play? So many accomplishments, Mr. Grey.”

“And the greatest one is you, Miss Steele.”
― E.L. JamesFifty Shades of Grey

“You sound like a control freak.” The words are out of my mouth before I can stop them. 

“Oh, I exercise control in all things, Miss Steele,” he says without a trace of humor in his smile.” 

― E.L. JamesFifty Shades of Grey

Leave a Reply... Mags reads them all!